Top

AI Roleplay Platforms — Side-by-Side

34 platforms. One table. Everything you need to decide which AI roleplay client is worth your time — without opening 34 tabs.

Every rated entry below comes from a full hands-on review by Rukka — four decades across tabletop RPGs, CRPGs, MMOs, and AI-driven roleplay systems. Ratings reflect mechanical depth, long-campaign stability, and value for your time, scored out of 5. Pricing reflects the free-tier reality, not the marketing headline. The Models column names what AI actually runs under the hood. Memory describes how — or whether — the platform keeps your world coherent across sessions. A 🔒 next to a platform name means it's closed alpha, closed beta, or application-gated — not open to the general public yet. None of those carry a rating yet; each links to a first look or preview instead of a verdict.

Use the filters to narrow by pricing tier or access. Click any column header to sort. The Review link opens the full write-up for each platform.

Rank by a single axis to find the best platform for the one thing you actually care about. A composite averages seven axes, which means the lowest-scoring platform here can still be the best in the directory at memory, or at player agency — and that is usually the question you arrived with. Switching axis re-sorts the table and shows each platform's score on that axis alone.

Every rating here comes from first-hand play, and every platform that carries one has now been scored across all seven published axes — the number beside it is a composite of those axes, not a holistic impression — see how we rate, or the benchmark for what this data says about the field as a whole. Not sure which to pick? The Best AI Roleplay Platforms guide gives ranked recommendations by player type. For a no-subscription alternative, the games directory lists prompt games that run inside models you already pay for.

Filter:

Click column headers to sort

Platform Rating Pricing Models Memory Best for Review
Voyage 4.4/5 freemium Latitude own model Structured state plus dice — hit points, positioning and death are game state, not facts the model has to remember. Memory is unmetered on the lower plans; the top two tiers sell enhanced and max memory. Players who want outcomes they earned — combat that will wipe a party for steamrolling, characters who stay themselves across a long campaign, and permadeath that means it. → Review
Craft 4.3/5 freemium Sold in two bands, Craft Core and All Models. Craft names the Core band in its patch notes and revises it there — MiMo 2.5, DeepSeek v4 Flash and Hy3 at launch, with GLM 5.3 Flash added since. Worldbuilder-authored — memory structures written in markdown per world, not one prescribed system. Loses recent events, and promises NPCs made. Worldbuilders who want to author their own system, narrator, and memory structure rather than play inside someone else's — and players patient enough to wait for the turns. → Review
Friends & Fables 3.9/5 freemium Multi-LLM orchestration Multi-model state sync Rich, long-term tactical multiplayer campaigns and complex granular world-building for up to 6 players. → Review
NOPOTIONS 3.8/5 freemium Not named. Two in-house narration tiers, Flask and Elixir; no provider disclosed. "Lorebuilder" — authored world plus a per-character journal. Holds relationships; retrieves too little. Players who want one authored fantasy world with real systems under it — dice rolled in the open, loot with stats, 21 skills trained by use — and total freedom inside it. Not for anyone who wants to bring their own setting or rules. → Review
Master of Dungeon 3.3/5 freemium Not named. No model or provider is disclosed on the site or in either store listing. An engine stores game state; story memory is rolling summaries of summaries. Standard for the niche. Players who want a rules-backed dark-fantasy RPG on their phone — combat, skills, dice, gear and a hero who levels up. Not for anyone after memorable characters, or a way to talk to the game master when something breaks. → Review
Tidefall 3.3/5 freemium Not named — no roster published Not published. The authored spine holds — hand-written quests do not drift — but it passed one memory probe and failed a second. Players who want an authored, cinematic dark-fantasy campaign with characters who genuinely refuse them — and who will not miss an inventory, a journal, a currency display or the freedom to leave the story. → Review
Tabled 3.1/5 freemium Not published. Narration, art and voice are AI; dice, rules and XP are not. State lives in a server, not the transcript — dice, experience, levels and conditions are validated outside the model. Recall held until late in a full campaign. Groups who want a 5e campaign that survives everyone's calendar, and who are happy to follow the story the game master brought. If you argue with it, it does not argue back — it carries on without you. → Review
Janitor AI 3.0/5 freemium BYO API — any model Model-dependent Character-chat fans who want a big library and external model support. → Review
Old Greg's Tavern 3.0/5 freemium Undisclosed (own backend) Persistent campaign state Edgy long-session campaigns with friends — F&F energy, fewer rules. → Review
WyrdTale 3.0/5 free Bring your own — Claude or ChatGPT, connected over MCP Server-side world state — entities, saves, factions and relationships persist outside the chat Long campaigns run on your own Claude or ChatGPT subscription, if you can tolerate a GM that narrates your character's actions. → Review
aiga_ 2.9/5 freemium Not named. No underlying model or provider is disclosed anywhere on the site. "Living Game Book" — a per-world record of history, alliances and relationships. Adequate, not deep. Players who want an AI RPG with something to win — Kingpin mode ranks your reputation against everyone else in that world and sitewide. Not for anyone who needs rewards to arrive reliably, or who wants NPCs with distinct voices. → Review
MacerAI 2.9/5 freemium Own + integrations In-context + assets Rapid zero-prep sessions and empowering human DMs with on-the-fly generative assets. → Review
Tales RPG 2.8/5 freemium Not named. Neither talesrpg.app nor the App Store or Google Play listings identify a model or provider anywhere. Not published beyond a marketing claim. Holds the core of a story, comes apart on long campaigns. Players who want to write their own premise, keep full control of their character, and be left alone to play it — on a phone, for free, without arguing with a game master. Not for anyone who wants the world to argue back. → Review
Deep Realms 2.7/5 freemium Proprietary — Freya 4.1, Aion, Magni, Astral 80,000-word store Unrestricted solo sessions for tech-savvy writers who want model quality and a big memory window — not long campaigns needing a system to hold them together. → Review
Hidden Door 2.7/5 freemium Own narrative engine Card-based world state Coherent guided stories in licensed worlds; creators who publish worlds and get paid. → Review
Infinity DM 2.7/5 free Own model Async persistent Asynchronous group campaigns for busy adults who cannot commit to a synchronous four-hour session. → Review
AI Dungeon 2.6/5 freemium 8 free, 18 on Ultimate — context allocated per model, not per plan In-context, limited Emergent, unrestricted storytelling and dream-logic narratives where the constraints of reality don't apply. → Review
ArcQuill 2.6/5 freemium Player picks from five, each with a published reliability score and credit cost Server-side world state — notes, characters and world facts selected into context automatically ("Stateful Context"). Recall of planted details was partial. Players who want to see ideas nobody else has shipped, and who can live with dice that don't yet mean much. Put it on your watchlist rather than your subscription list. → Review
FableAI 2.4/5 freemium Undisclosed (own backend) "Smart memory" (claimed) Polished mobile freewrite with voice and art — if gems fit your budget. → Review
AI Game Master 2.3/5 freemium GPT-4 for narration; fal.ai for image generation (both disclosed in-app) Standard context window Short, self-contained mobile runs with a companion worth talking to — not long campaigns, which the pricing discourages. → Review
AI Realm 2.3/5 freemium Own (D&D 5e-trained) In-context, degrades Solo or small-group D&D 5e campaigns without the burden of scheduling a human DM. → Review
Character.AI 2.1/5 freemium Own proprietary model In-context. Story Memory and pinned messages free; Facts and Lorebook added after our review, behind c.ai+ Beginners who want a slick, no-setup way to chat one-on-one with a persona, celebrity, or fictional character — not to play a game. → Review
Chub AI 1.9/5 freemium In-house hosted models + bring-your-own via API/OpenRouter In-context + lorebooks Tinkerers who want a large portable card catalogue and bring-your-own-model support, and don't mind a rough interface. → Review
Dunia 1.7/5 freemium Undisclosed (own backend) Editable message history + branching timelines Writing a story with an AI co-author — not playing a character, whose actions the narrator can and does refuse. → Review
Perchance 1.4/5 free In-house AI Text Plugin In-context, inconsistent Casual, no-commitment character chat and fast scenario experimentation — not for running a real campaign. → Review
AIDungeonMaster.ai🔒 freemium Undisclosed Persistent memory (claimed) 5e rules-engine play with a paid creator marketplace — promising, but wait for open access. → Preview
Dungeons Deep🔒 Not disclosed Not disclosed — NPCs did recall facts we planted with them earlier in the campaign, so something persists beyond the current scene Players who want a well-refereed 5e-style crawl with real loot and working shops, and who don't need companions with voices of their own. → Preview
Fable Forge🔒 freemium Hybrid — SQL mechanics engine + multi-LLM orchestration (narration, intent, reputation, memory), plus portrait generation SQL, persistent — unlimited auto-generated per-NPC memories, semantic recall, trust-gated lore reveal Solo players who want a handful of worked-out characters and locations with real memory, over a wide-open freeform sandbox. → Preview
Myth Maker AI🔒 freemium Players who want real dice stakes and roguelite gear progression without freewriting or deep worldbuilding. → Preview
MythEngyn🔒 paid Maelstrom — a world-state engine tracking current truth, deliberately not retrieval over past messages Players who care more about a world staying consistent fifty sessions deep than about presentation or portraits. → Preview
Questner🔒 paid Short, low-commitment mobile or tablet sessions for players who want constant progression, not deep worldbuilding. → Preview
RoleForge🔒 free SQL engine + LLM narrator SQL database, persistent Long-term solo campaigns that want strict rule adherence, earned victories, and structural persistence — once it's out of alpha. → Preview
Taverna🔒 free Own (D&D 5e-trained) In-context (Discord) Discord communities and friend groups who want a seamless AI DM in their existing server. → Preview
WorldAI🔒 free Gemini Flash by default; Grok 4.3 when the opt-in "spicy" mode is on. The project's wiki also lists OpenAI, Anthropic and MiniMax as providers, and bring-your-own-key An engine holds items and stats server-side; the story itself is summarised, and the summaries summarised again, as the campaign grows — key facts survived our 24 hours, narrative detail did not Players who want a free, rules-backed D&D 5e campaign they can start tonight, and who can live with slow turns and a story that keeps its key facts but loses some of its detail. → Preview

Reading the Data

A few patterns worth naming before you click through to any review.

Free doesn't mean limited. Taverna and RoleForge are both free and both currently unrated under our pre-release policy — Taverna is in closed beta, RoleForge in closed alpha — and RoleForge is, on architecture alone, the one to watch for solo long-campaign persistence. The free tiers genuinely work for the use cases they're built for: solo persistence (RoleForge, on paper) and Discord-native group play (Taverna, hands-on). Freemium platforms, by contrast, vary enormously in what the free tier actually provides before the upsell appears.

Memory architecture determines campaign length. Platforms running on standard in-context windows — AI Dungeon, AI Realm, Taverna — all share the same ceiling: the model forgets what happened before the context fills. RoleForge solves this with a SQL database. Deep Realms extends it with an 80,000-word external store. Friends & Fables handles it through multi-model state synchronisation. The Memory column is the fastest way to identify which platforms can actually run a six-month campaign versus which ones degrade by session four.

Model flexibility matters if you pay elsewhere. Janitor AI's bring-your-own-API approach means you're not paying twice — if you already subscribe to Claude or ChatGPT, you bring that subscription to a large character library. Deep Realms does the same. On every other platform on this list, you're paying for their model access specifically.

Full write-ups for every platform are linked in the Review column. The client directory has all 34 cards in one view. If you are still working out which genre of AI roleplay suits you — pure narrative freedom, structured D&D mechanics, character-chat, or multiplayer tactical — the Best AI Roleplay Platforms guide makes that distinction explicit.